Chartered Market Technician Program

What is the CMT Designation?

The Chartered Market Technician® (CMT) credential is the preeminent, global designation for practitioners of technical analysis. The designation is awarded to those who demonstrate mastery of a core body of knowledge of investment risk in portfolio management settings.

Earning the CMT charter makes you part of a community of investment professionals recognized as specialists and value generators around the world. A perfect complement to other analytical disciplines and financial designations, the CMT charter puts you on the leading edge of the ever-changing investment industry.

Download CMT Program Fact Card

To earn the CMT charter you must be a Member of the Market Technicians Association (MTA), successfully complete three levels of examinations and obtain approval from the MTA Admissions Committee and Board of Directors.

CMT Administration

The exams for all three levels are administered twice a year, once in April and again October. Candidates may only take one exam per administration.

In order to register for an exam you must:

  • be a member of the MTA and enroll in the CMT program
  • be prepared to take the exams in English
  • have a valid Passport or other form of approved ID (send to list of approved forms of ID)

Each of the exams is computer-based and administered at Prometric test centers around the world. Candidates taking the CMT Level I & II Exams will be issued a performance analysis report with pass or fail results at the test center immediately after taking the exam.

For more information on exam dates click here.

Course of Study

The CMT program is a self-study program designed around the MTA’s core body of knowledge (CBOK) that includes current, industry-relevant concepts and treatments of technical analysis in the context of portfolio management. The CBOK is packaged into a custom curriculum and supported by enhanced candidate resources designed to maximize your preparation efforts.

The curriculum is organized into exam specific knowledge domains that provide a framework for recognizing and implementing investment strategies and trading opportunities.

Exam Knowledge Domains


The CMT program includes three levels of examinations:

  • Level I focuses on a basic knowledge of the terminology and analytical tools used in technical analysis.
  • Level II measures the candidate’s competency in the application of concepts, theory, and techniques covered by the required readings.
  • Level III tests the candidate’s ability to integrate his or her understanding of the concepts identified in Level I with the practical application learned in Level II.

Exam Format

Exam Format


The CMT curriculum is updated annually to incorporate new materials which reflect changes in the investment industry. The curriculum remains unchanged for exams in the same calendar year. Candidates may purchase directly through Wiley and Amazon.

CMT Curriculum Reading

CMT Level I - Exam Topic Breakdown